Face Paint

IMG_3455

Some call it “face paint”, others might say it’s “false advertising”, but I just call it art. How interesting it is, that one can become their own canvas with just some pressed powders and creams! I’ve become fearless when it comes to wearing makeup; I love to try different looks and colors, and experiment with altering the shapes of my features.

This portrait reflects my beauty ideal – I love bright colors, warm skin, and pops of unexpected bits. In some ways, my society has shaped how I see beauty, but I try to make a conscious effort in developing my own sense, regardless of what society dictates to me through mass media. For instance, I do not get my thick and sometimes unruly eyebrows “done”, I do not cover up my freckles, and I wear colors that traditionally don’t “look good” on a redhead. Makeup allows me a space where I can express my femininity the way I want to, and honestly, it’s been one of the most important factors in developing my identity.

 

Leave a comment